top of page

PRESS RELEASE: US Congress’ China Commission Nominates Hong Kongers for Nobel Peace Prize

Updated: Jul 31, 2023

2 February 2023 – Today, the Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC) announced it has nominated six Hong Kongers for the Nobel Peace Prize. The CECC is the US’ legislative body responsible for protecting and promoting human rights and the rule of law in China and Hong Kong. The six individuals nominated by the CECC for the Nobel Peace Prize are: Jimmy Lai Chee-ying, Joseph Zen Ze-kiun, Tonyee Chow Hang-tung, Gwyneth Ho Kwai-lam, Lee Cheuk-yan, and Joshua Wong Chi-fung. They were nominated because they are “ardent champions of Hong Kong’s autonomy, human rights, and the rule of law as guaranteed under the Sino-British Declaration and International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.” Brief information about the Nobel Peace Prize nominees:

  • Jimmy Lai Chee-ying is the founder of the former pro-democracy newspaper Apple Daily; he remains falsely imprisoned for “national security” reasons.

  • Joseph Zen Ze-kiun is the Catholic Cardinal of Hong Kong who has provided strong support to Hong Kong’s pro-democracy campaigners despite the authoritarian government’s wishes. Cardinal Zen was arrested and released under the National Security Law in May 2022 for “colluding with foreign forces.”

  • Tonyee Chow Hang-tung is a former civil society leader who was detained for “inciting” Hong Kongers to participate in 1989 Tiananmen Square vigils.

  • Gwyneth Ho Kwai-lam is a journalist who was previously beaten by a mob and detained under the National Security Law for participating in elections.

  • Lee Cheuk-yan is a former legislator and labor rights activist who was criminalized according to the National Security Law for participating in unauthorized assemblies.

  • Joshua Wong Chi-fung is a pro-democracy activist who was charged with a national security offense for participating in unauthorized assemblies.

Five of the six nominees were previously nominated by a group of academics in January 2023. The nominees are all non-violent and represent pro-democracy Hong Kongers who cannot freely express their views. The CFHK Foundation fully supports and applauds the CECC nominees’ heroic achievements for the pro-democracy movement to safeguard freedom, democracy, and the rule of law in Hong Kong and worldwide.

The CFHK Foundation’s President, Mark Clifford, said:

“The CFHK Foundation welcomes the CECC’s nomination of these six Hong Kong heroes, people who have dedicated their lives to championing democracy and human rights. These individuals should be celebrated for their sacrifices and continuing resistance to the CCP’s crushing of Hong Kong’s freedoms. The nominees are among those who have spearheaded the democracy movement in Hong Kong, a struggle against tyranny that has implications not only for the future of Hong Kong but for the rest of the world as the battle between freedom and tyranny intensifies.”

72 views0 comments


bottom of page